Trollope in New Zealand

I am indebted to Peter Hoar who spotted this article about Trollope’s arrival in New Zealand on 3 August 1872. During my own visit there last year I followed in Trollope’s footsteps and visited the places mentioned in the article.  Sadly the terraces described in the article’s quotation from Trollope’s great travelogue Australia and New Zealand have since been destroyed in a volcano eruption.

http://www.nzhistory.net.nz/page/anthony-trollope-arrives-nz-tour

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Trollope in New Zealand

  1. Glenn Shipway

    Mark, A.H. Reed’s “With Anthony Trollope in New Zealand 1872” is a terrific book on that subject. Did you have it with you when you did your trip? And I am surprised you didn’t call in to see me in Queensland when you were down this way!!

    • Hi Glenn. I would have loved to call in on more if my friends on my round the world trip but I was on an intense schedule. I flew in and out of Queensland in 42 hours with a day diving the Barrier Reef out of Cairns squeezed in between. Next time you can count on a visit unless, forewarned, you can find rustle up a “prior” engagement in time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

